Pop Culture

Century of Words: CCP Marks Balagtasan Centennial with Baraptasan 2024

February 21, 2024

The Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) brings the captivating world of verbal jousts and highlights its brilliance and profound influence on Filipino artistic expression in celebration of the centennial anniversary of Balagtasan this April.

Born in 1924, the Balagtasan ignited a tradition of verbal jousting that continues to captivate audiences today. This unique art form not only showcases mastery of the Filipino language, but also serves as a powerful platform for tackling pressing social and political issues. While inspired by the renowned poet Francisco Balagtas, the form itself wasn’t his creation. Instead, we owe the term “Balagtasan” to Tagalog poet and fictionist Jose N. Sevilla.

Witness the culmination of the CCP Kanto Kultura: Baraptasan 2024! 10 finalists will engage in a thrilling battle of wit and wordplay at the Grand Finals on April 6 (Saturday), 2pm at Rizal Park Open Air Auditorium. Here is the list of finalists:

  • Rapper sa Pinas with Oliver Almidin Monindero, Ernesto Canoy, Jr. and Fernando Melencio, Jr.
  • Harayasista Group with John Earnest M. Evidor, Anynel L. Garino, and James Son E. De la Cruz
  • City of Koronadal with Jon Van Esmael T. Lapu, Angel Faith P. Leal, and Philip Jay P. Leaño
  • Ang Mga Supling ni Angela with Jan Carl B. Campit, Francis B. Balingbing, and Kirschen Xyvrl I. Balajadia
  • Lakbay Iral with Aaron Vincent G. Jimenez, Louie Ross P. Reyes, and Gabriel Angelo Pedrosa
  • El Setecientos with John Arkhi Corpuz, Miguel Bardaje, and Raynald Simon
  • Tagapagtaguyod ng Literatura at Wika (TANGLAW) with Schulamight Kate C. Manzano, Edlyn Joy M. Baniqued, and Deprisse Andre Guco
  • Waraptasan with James Lorie Leala, Kenneth Cinco, and Ma. Regina Babon
  • BarapBida Normalista with Wally O. Concepcion, Dave Anthony C. Padel, and Ray Vincent R. Padiwan; and
  • DMD with John Dave P. Rosimo, Marielle Lou C. Bernardo, and Reynaldo S. Bernardo

They will have the chance to win Php 300,000 (first prize), Php 200,000 (second prize); and Php 100,000 (third prize). The rest of the finalists will receive Php 50,000 each.

Apart from the exciting competition, there will be a parade of delightful performances by renowned groups from across the country, all paying tribute to the enduring legacy of Balagtasan. The event, sponsored by the National Parks Development Committee (NPDC), is free and open to the public.

To get the latest updates on CCP Kanto Kultura: Baraptasan 2024 and the centennial celebration of Balagtasan, follow the official CCP and CCP Kanto Kultura Facebook pages, or e-mail content@culturalcenter.gov.ph for more information.

Let's Talk!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.